Temple of Artemis
In a marshy basin just on the outskirts of town is a lone surviving column from the Temple of Artemis, or
Artemesion, representing the remains of yet another plundered Wonder of the Ancient World.
The notice simply suggests the immensity of the process, four times as wealthy as the Parthenon and the sooner monumental apartment to be absolutely constructed of marble. As an pattern of its period of time, clear that the such remaining column stands an unique 4m (13 ft.) flat the am a matter of of the architrave. This in a state of nature temple, built during 650 b.c. to the cult of Artemis, was constructed on a site coming to be sacred to the Mother Goddess, Kybele. In 356 b.c. (the year Alexander the Great was born), a psychopathic arsonist determined on immortality reside fire to the temple.
“After years of archeological research the ruins of the temple were discovered in 1877 by J. T. Wood. The platform on which the temple stood was 418 by 239 feet, and the temple itself was 342 by 163 feet and
had over one hundred columns supporting its roof.”
a) One of the items recovered from the temple site was a sculptured marble column “drum,” which was found at the south-west corner of the later temple—it is now in the British Museum.
b) The relief shows a youthful winged Thanatos (death), as well as other figures from the underworld.
4. The Hellenistic temple which Paul saw was destroyed in A. D. 262.